For example, here, I copied some text from groovyPost and hit Ctrl + V to paste it in, and it brings the site formatting over – bolding, font style, font size. It’s set to bring over links automatically too.

Make Word Keep Plain Text Only

In Word 2010 or 2013, go to File > Options > Advanced  or in Office 2007 click the Office button > Word Options > Advanced. Then scroll down to the Cut, Copy, and Paste section. Then change “Pasting Between Documents when Style Definitions Conflict” to Keep Text Only.

Also, change “Pasting From Other Programs” to Keep Text Only and click OK to save the changes and close out of Word Options.

Now moving forward, anything you paste from any source, the formatting will be the default Calibri 11 point text font. Here I copied a section from our Complete Guide to Windows 8, including various fonts and links. It’s text-only.

You can also change your default Paste options to other settings. How you set them up will be based on how you use the feature and what works best for your situation. I find it a lot easier to make Word do this all the time and format text on my own in each document. How about you? Do you prefer to use this option or the Paste Special feature? Leave a comment and let us know! http://www.stevemiller.net/puretext/ I have “Keep Text Only” for all four options (within, between, conflicts, other programs). I have unchecked “smart cut and paste” (and have even tried with this option checked). I have saved my styles as normal/default, i.e. “New documents based on this template”. Despite all these changes, if I cut from e.g. the Wikipedia and paste into Word, it will keep original text formatting and import the style “apple converted space”. How do I stop this!?! I feel as though I have tried all possible combinations of options for cut and paste in the options menu. Yet this issue persists. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 90Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 51Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 22Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 21Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 14Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 42Make Microsoft Word Always Paste in Plain Text - 36